टाटा मूलभूत अनुसंधान संस्थान
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research

Homi Bhabha Road, Mumbai 400005, India

Home | Search | Sitemap | Mail to Webmaster

Annual Reports

ANNUAL REPORT by the Secretary, TAA (for the year 2001 .2002)

  1. The executive committee of TAA held 3 meetings in a year: December 17th, 2001; February 28th, 2002 and November 30th, 2002.
  2. The following members were co-opted: Dr. Grover A.K. (Nominee of the TIFR Endowment Fund), Dr. Parimala R. (TIFR Maths Faculty), Dr. Ghosh S.K. (Ex-Treasurer), Dr. Vahia M.N. (Ex-Secretary), Dr. Lavakare P.J. (for Bangalore Chapter . decided to open chapters at various locations).
  3. The TAA executive committee has decided to hold 3 . 4 Public lectures per year. One of these will be on the National Science Day (28th/29th February) and another one on the birthday of Bharat Ratna JRD Tata (29th July). Four lectures have been held so far and two more are already scheduled. The list is as follows:
    1. The Trials and Excitement of setting up a scientific institution by Professor J.V. Narlikar (January 16, 2002).
    2. Kaun Banega Crorepati - A Million Dollars for a Mathematician by Professor M.S. Raghunathan (February 28, 2002).
    3. Science with Engagement and Passion by Professor Yash Pal (July 29, 2002)
    4. Plugging into the Sun - When does your roof provide for your electrical needs ? by Dr. Subhendu Guha (December 20, 2002)
    5. Professor BM Udgaonkar (February 28, 2003)
    6. Professor O. Siddiqui (July 29, 2003)
  4. All contributions to the TIFR Endowment Fund (TEF) are now made directly to the TEF. A total of Rs. 67 lakhs were mobilized by TAA towards the TEF for the purpose of Career Development Awards for the TIFR research scholars. During the year 2001-02, 101 scholars, who had completed two years of course requirements of various graduate schools, were presented the Career Development Awards of amounts varying between Rs. 12000 to Rs. 48000/-.
  5. TAA has instituted the new Best Thesis awards and enriched one old award via TEF. These awards are:
    1. TAA . Geeta Udgaonkar Award for the best Ph.D. thesis in Physical Sciences (Presented to Dr. Pratap Raychaudhuri for the year 2001);
    2. TAA . Harish-Chandra Memorial Award for the best Ph.D. thesis award in Mathematics and Computer Science (Presented to Dr. A. Raghuram for the year 2001); and
    3. TAA . Zita Lobo Memorial Award for the best Ph.D thesis in Biological and Chemical Sciences (Presented to Dr. S. C. Sahu for the year 2001).
  6. A Newsletter (named SAMPARK) in the print form (electronic form will also be made available) has been started for the TAA. A donation of Rs. 50000/- from our alumnus, Dr. Karamajit Arya (SJSU), has helped us bring out this in the print form, and we are grateful to him for this gesture.
  7. It is proposed to institute an Excellence in Teaching Award at TIFR via a nuclear amount of Rs. 1 lakh, received from the First Patron of TAA, Prof. S.S. Jha.
  8. It is also proposed to institute Excellence in Innovation Medals for Patent holders at TIFR via a nuclear amount of USD 500/- received from Dr. S. Guha.
  9. A new revamped web site for TAA has been set up.
  10. A logo for the TAA has been designed (see at the top of this page).
  11. It is proposed to start TAA syndicated News Paper Articles to raise the profile of TIFR and establish a brand image for TIFR.
  12. The number of alumni registered with us now stands at 210, more than double the strength (92) in November 2001.
  13. An Alumni Relationship office is proposed to be set up by our New Director and New Patron Prof. Shobo Bhattacharya.
  14. The TAA executive committee has decided that Ph.D. students graduating from TIFR can become members once they submit their thesis.
  15. TEF and TIFR are thanked for funding the expenses connected with the printing and bringing out of the posters, invitation cards, etc. for the public lecture series and sending them on time to various colleges and schools in Mumbai.
  16. TAA thanks Shri SV Mantri, Kishore Menon (PRO office), S Saran (Publications), Photography Section, Auditorium services, Transport office, Canteen staff for their enthusiastic help.
  17. TAA Secretary thanks all the exec. Committee members for support and help.


Volume 1. No.1 (2002)

Volume 2. No.1 (2003)

Copyright : TIFR ; Author : Dsouza Margaret ; Created on 2005-11-08 ; Last modified on 2009-05-04.