Friday, 19/01/2018       

Tata Institute of Fundamental Research is a National Centre of the Government of India, under the umbrella of the Department of Atomic Energy, as well as a deemed University awarding degrees for master's and doctoral programs. The Institute was founded in 1945 with support from the Sir Dorabji Tata Trust under the vision of Dr Homi Bhabha. At TIFR, we carry out basic research in physics, chemistry, biology, mathematics, computer science and science education. Our main campus is located in Mumbai, with centres at Pune, Bangalore and Hyderabad.

CZT Imager of AstroSat measures first phase resolved X-ray polarisation of Crab pulsar

Liquids take a shine to terahertz radiation

Creation of coherent states in molecules by incoherent electrons

Cosmic fireworks: First joint detection of gravitational and electromagnetic waves from colliding neutron stars

Predicting the properties of subatomic particles using large scale computer simulations

Dr Homi Bhabha-Nehru-Tata
Dr. Homi Jehangir Bhabha (center) with Jawaharlal Nehru (left, India’s first Prime Minister) and J.R.D. Tata, (Trustee, Sir Dorabji Tata Trust) at TIFR in 1962. These were the individuals whose vision led to the establishment of TIFR.


The Tata Institute of Fundamental Research was founded around the time of India’s independence from colonial rule to promote advanced scientific research in the country. It was established by the noted Physicist Dr. Homi Jehangir Bhabha with financial support from Sir Dorabji Tata Trust and the then Government of Bombay. It began its operations on 1 June 1945 at the Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, and later moved to Mumbai in December of the same year. In Mumbai, the institute operated out of the Kenilworth building and the Old Yacht Club, before moving to its present picturesque seaside campus in 1962.
At its inception, the institute’s research activities were focused on high energy physics, cosmic rays and mathematics. Over the years, activities at TIFR and its centres around the country steadily expanded to include all branches of basic sciences including physics, chemistry, biology, mathematics, computer science and also science education. The institute is the birthplace of India’s atomic energy program and several institutions of national importance. Institutions such as the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC), Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), Electronics Corporation of India Ltd. (ECIL), Society for Applied Microwave Electronics Engineering & Research (SAMEER) and Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (CDAC) trace their beginnings to TIFR.

Wiley Library award 2017 won by SIRC New

Congratulations: TIFR is a winner of the Clarivate Analytics India Research Excellence - Citation Awards 2017

Infosys prize for 2017 won by Upi Bhalla (NCBS) and Yamuna Krishnan (until recently at NCBS) and Ritabrata Munshi (Maths)

Onsager Prize to Prof. Subir Sachdev

MGK Menon-Pioneer in particle physics and a great statesman

Podcast Check audio feed

Jan 19, 2018

  • Ms. Khadiza Ali (TIFR), "Ph.D. Thesis Defense of Ms. Khadiza Ali" in FTNMR Seminar Room starts at 1100
  • Podcast Dr. Subhendu Ghosh (IUAC, New Delhi), "Development of Delhi Light Source (DLS) at IUAC" in AG-66. starts at 1600
  • Phani Raj Lolakapuri (School of Technology and Computer Science, TIFR), "Representation of Finite Games as Congestion Games" in D-405 (D-Block Seminar Room) starts at 1715
  • Podcast Check audio feed

    Podcast Check audio feed

    Podcast Check audio feed

    Podcast Check audio feed