TIFR

Note

Academic

Faculty

Name Tel. No Office Email Research Interest
H. M. Antia 2514 A-260 antia Helioseismology
Sudip Bhattacharyya 2925 CM-31 sudip Neutron Stars, Black Holes, High Energy Astrophysics
Swarna K. Ghosh 2364 CM-28 swarna Infrared Astronomy
A. Gopakumar 2677 A-259 gopu Gravitational waves
Shravan Hanasoge 2593 A-261 shravan.hanasoge Helioseismology
Pankaj S. Joshi 2486 A-255 psj General relativity and Cosmology
Bhaswati Mookerjea 2294 CM-31 bhaswati Infrared Astronomy
Devendra K. Ojha (Chair) 2684 CM-26 ojha Infrared and Optical Astronomy
Manoj Puravankara 2403 A-253 manoj.puravankara Infrared and Optical Astronomy
A. R. Rao 2375 CM-33 arrao X-ray and Gamma ray Astronomy
Tejinder P. Singh 2600 A-264 tpsingh General Relativity, Quantum Gravity, Cosmology
Mayank N. Vahia 2350 A-265 vahia Archaeoastronomy
Jagdish S. Yadav 2253 CM-17 jsyadav X-ray and Gamma ray Astronomy, Cosmic rays

Adjunct Faculty

Thomas K. Henning Max-Planck-Institut fur Astronomie, Germany Email:henning@mpia.de
Deepto Chakrabarty Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research, MIT, MA, USA Email: deepto@space.mit.edu
Laurent Gizon Prof. Laurent Gizon, MPlanck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung, Germany Email: gizon@mps.mpg.de

Adjunct Members

Name Tel. No Office Email Research Interest
Jayaram N. Chengalur 20-25719248 F-201 chengalu NCRA-TIFR, Pune / Extra-galactic Astronomy
Rajiv V. Gavai 2430 A-429 gavai DTP / High Energy Physics:Quantum Field Theory
Gobinda Majumder 2378 D-207 gobinda DHEP / High Energy Physics
Lokesh Tribedi 2267 P-106 lokesh DNAP / Accel­er­a­tor Based Atomic Physics

Postdoc visiting scientists

Name Tel. No Office Email Research Interest DoJ
Priyanka Chaturvedi 2289 CM-19 priyanka.chaturvedi Star Formation, Spectroscopy 18/04/2017
Rajibul Shaikh 2380 A-272 rajibul.shaikh Gravitational Collapse 20/07/2017
Shubhrangshu Ghosh 2289 CM-19 shubhrangshu.ghosh Black Holes Astrophysics 18/08/2017

Graduate Students

Name Tel. No Office Email Research Interest DoJ
Shreya Banerjee 2679 A 262 shreya.banerjee Cosmology 30/07/2013
Jishnu Bhattacharya 2624 A-270 jishnu.bhattacharya Helioseismology 31/07/2013
Debdutta Paul 2387 CM-34 debdutta.paul High Energy Phenomena 30/07/2013
Prashant Kocherlakota 2624 A-270 k.prashant Gravitational Collapse 31/07/2013
Vikas Chand 2387 CM-34 vikas.chand X-Ray Astronomy 29/01/2013
Sayantani Bera 2679 A-262 sayantani.bera Quantum Gravity 30/07/2013
Siddhesh C. Ambhire 2484 CM-34 siddhesh.ambhire Undeclared 30/07/2014
Srimanta Banerjee 2679 A-262 Srimanta.Banerjee General Relativity 31/07/2014
Krishnendu Mandal 2624 A-270 Krishnendu.Mandal Helioseismology 30/07/2014
Sudip Chakraborty 2484 CM-34 Sudip.Chakraborty X-ray Astronomy 31/07/2014
Dattaraj B. Dhuri 2679 A-262 dattaraj.dhuri Solar magnetism, flares 01/08/2013
Lankeswar Dey 2428 A263 lankeswar.dey Undeclared 29/07/2015
Mayank Narang 2387 CM-34 mayank.narang Star and planet formation, Exoplanets 29/07/2015
S. Abhimanyu 2428 A263 s.abhimanyu Gravitational waves 29/07/2015
Srishti Tiwari 2428 A-263 Srishti.Tiwari Gravitational waves 29/07/2015
Samarth G.K. 2624 A-270 Samarth G.K. Undeclared 01/08/2016
Tuneer Chakraborty 2387 CM-34 tuneer.chakraborty Solar Physics 01/08/2016
Shouvik Bhattacharjee 2387 CM-34 shouvik.bhattacharjee Undeclared 01/08/2016
Prasad Subramanian 2989 WS-10 prasad.subramanian undeclared 01/08/2017
Chirag Chawla 2989 WS-10 chirag.chawla undeclared 01/08/2017
Ambreesh Khurana 2989 WS-10 ambreesh.khurana undeclared 01/08/2017
Saket Agrawal 2989 WS-10 saket.agrawal undeclared 01/08/2017
Atharv P. Deokule 2989 WS-10 atharv.deokule undeclared 01/08/2017
Ankit Kumar 2989 WS-10 ankit.kumar undeclared 01/08/2017

Scientific Staff

Name Tel. No Office Email Group
Savio L. A. D'Costa 2252 CM-15 sdcosta Infrared Astronomy
Dheeraj. K. Dedhia 2408 CM-12 dedhia X-ray Astronomy
Mahendra K. Hingar 2084 CM-09 mkhingar X-ray Astronomy
S. B. Janawlekar 2254 CM-01 sbj Archeo Astronomy
Nilima S. Kamble 2482 CM-21 nilima X-ray Astronomy
Tilak B. Katoch 2225 CM-11 tilak X-ray Astronomy
Pankaj. P. Madhwani 2408 CM-12 pankaj X-ray Astronomy
T.K. Manoj Kumar 2415 D-314 manoj X-ray Astronomy
Kalol Mukerjee 2252 CM-15 kmukerji X-ray Astronomy
Milind B. Naik 2838 CM-08 mbnaik Infrared Astronomy
Amish S. Pandya 2408 A-12 amish X-ray Astronomy
S. S. Poojary 2835 CM-07 spoojary Infrared Astronomy
A.A. Rodi 2522 CM-01 aar X-ray Astronomy
P. R. Sandimani 2418 CM-02 srpradeep Infrared Astronomy
Harshit Shah 2086 CM-09 harshits Infrared Astronomy
Parag B. Shah 2911 CM-11 pshah X-ray Astronomy
S.L. Vishwakarma 2708 D-320 vishwakarma X-ray Astronomy
Nisha Yadav 2350 A-265 y_nisha Archeo Astronomy

Technical, Laboratory and Workshop Staff

Name Tel. No Office Email Group
B. G. Bagade 2265 AB-34 bgbagade Infrared Astronomy
C.B. Bakalkar 2418 CM-02 bakalkar Infrared Astronomy
S.B. Bhagat 2418 CM-02 sbbhagat Infrared Astronomy
V.A. Nikam 2408 CM-12 varshac X-ray Astronomy
S.M. Gharat 2418 CM-02 sanjaygharat IRSIS Project
R.B. Jadhav 2835 CM-07 info_rajesh Infrared Astronomy
V.B. Kadam 2522 CM-01 vkadam X-ray Astronomy
J. G. Koyande 2482 CM-21 koyande X-ray Astronomy
V.N. Kurhade 2265 AB-34 kurhade.vikas X-ray Astronomy
A. P. Krishnan Kutty 2135 CM-13 kutty X-ray Astronomy
G.S. Meshram 2265 B-34 ggskuwar Infrared Astronomy
J. V. Parmar 2408 CM-12 jay X-ray Astronomy
M. H. Patil 2522 CM-01 milindhp X-ray Astronomy
D. M. Pawar 2408 CM-12 dpawar X-ray Astronomy

Senior Research Fellow

Name Tel. No Office Email Group
Jai V. Chauhan 2530 D-318 jaywardhan.chauhan Project

Junior Research Fellow

Name Tel. No Office Email Group
Ajay Ratheesh 2409 CM 25 ajay.ratheesh Project
Kasturi Warang 2482 CM 21 kasturi.warang Project

Project

Name Tel. No Office Email Group

Administration

Administrative Staff

Name Office Tel. No Email
Magnes S. Johny A-268 2305 magnes
Shobha S. Shenoy CM-33 2618 shobhag