Molecular Mechanisms of Cell Division

Dr. Mithilesh Mishra

                                  Principal Investigator

Mithilesh did his Ph.D. from the National University of Singapore in Dr. Mohan K. Balasubramanian's Lab and his Post Doctoral Research at Temasek Lifesciences Laboratory in Singapore. He joined the Department of Biological Sciences, TIFR as a Reader in July, 2014. Mithilesh is a Welcome Trust India Intermediate Fellow.

Samya Aich

          MSc Student

Samya is interested in understanding temporal regulation of cytokinesis and the mechanism(s) by which cell cycle is halted on perturbation of the cytokinetic machinery.


Aditi Karmarkar

            MSc Student

Aditi's work is focused on understanding the role of actin binding proteins in the assembly of the cytokinetic machinery and its regulation.



Subham Seal

           MSc Student

Subham is interested in understanding the role of transcription factors and protein phosphatases in cytokinesis checkpoint.




Himani Narang

    Integrated PhD Student

Himani is interested in studying the mechanisms involved in actomyosin ring constriction during cytokinesis.


Srishti Dar

     Post Doctoral Fellow

Srishti's work deals with investigating the role of post translationally modified proteins and their role in cytokinesis.



Project Students

Bhavna Shewale (MBBS)

Payal Oak (MSc student, Vellore Institute of Technology)

Dhvani Vora (MSc student, Institute of Bioinformatics and Biotechnology, Pune)

Priyanka Rajan (B.Tech student, PSG College of Technology, Coimbatore)

Prithvi Sinha (B.Tech student, Vellore Institute of Technology)