Department of Chemical Sciences
School of Natural Sciences


DCS Annual Talks 2017

Every year the Department of Chemical Sciences (DCS) showcases its research during the "DCS Annual Talks" event. This year the talks will be held over three days during November 28th-30th.  


Faculty members from the department will present snippets of their research in short talks. Colleagues and students from TIFR-Hyderabad and TIFR-NCBS Bangalore will also participate. We welcome them.  

Two invited guest speakers, Prof. Thomas Pucadyil (IISER, Pune) and  Prof. Debabrata Maiti (IIT-Bombay, Mumbai) will present institute-wide colloquiua on Nov 29th and 30th respectively. To learn more about the research background of these speakers, click on their names.  

Students will present posters on the 28th and 29th. 

The student organized Chem-Quiz competition returns with a bang on Nov 28th. The day will also feature a special Chem-Chat recharge session where the organizers (Vicky, Tathagata, and Kaustav) will unveil a new format for the weekly series!

Graduate students (Amitava, Charu, Imon, and Mona) will present two engaging talks discussing/debating the advances/trends/applications in chemical sciences on Nov 30th  

Please click here for the full program schedule. 

Prof. R.V. Hosur elected as Fellow of ISMAR

Prof. Ramakrishna V. Hosur has been elected as a 'FELLOW' of the International Society of Magnetic Resonance in recognition of distinction in contributing to the field of magnetic resonance.

Special Course on Allostery by Prof. Amnon Horovitz


Prof. Amnon Horovitz from the Weizmann Institute of Science  will be conducting a three day course on "Allosteric Models in Biology"

Dates: Monday 23, Tuesday 24, Wednesday 25  January 2016

Where: AG-80

Lecture Timings: 11:30 am to 1:00 pm

Please click here for the course syllabus.


Awards for Vivek Polshettiwar`s research group

Mr. Rustam Singh received best poster award in 4th International Conference on Advanced Nanomaterial and Nanotechnology (ICANN-2015), one of the best nano-conference in India, organized by IIT, Guwahati during Dec 8-11, 2015.

Mr. Rustam Singh received best poster award in ICONSAT 2016 organized by IISER, Pune and DST, Nanomission. He presented his recent work on, "TiO2 coated KCC-1 for photocatalysis: Nanoparticle formation and quantum confinement".

Dr. Polshettiwar is recognized as one of the 'Emerging Investigators 2016' for Novel design strategies for new functional materials by Journal of Materials Chemistry A of Royal Society of Chemistry, UK.

Dr. Polshettiwar has been awarded prestigious "Bronze Medal" by Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI) for 2017.

Awards for Jyotishman Dasgupta's Research Group

Ms Ankita Das won the best poster prize in the recently concluded Symposium on Advanced Bio-inorganic Chemistry (SABIC 2017) meeting in Kolkata during January 7-11th 2017. Her poster was titled: "Visible light induced C-H bond activation inside a water soluble nanocage"


Mr. Palas Roy won the best poster award in DCS Annual meeting 2016 which took place in TIFR Colaba during December 19th to 21st 2016. The poster was titled: "Tracking Singlet Fission in Semiconducting Organic Nanoparticles"


Ms. Ankita Das got Best Poster Award for her poster titled "Probing Dynamic Water Interaction with Molecular Nanocages Using Host-Guest Charge Transfer States" in the 2016 Ultrafast Science (UFS) theme meeting held in BARC Mumbai from 24th to 26th of November 2016


 Ms. Melby Johny got poster award for his poster titled "Tracking the photo-induced vesicle-to-fibril transition of H-Azo-Phe-Phe-OH in solution" in the 14th Optics Within Life Sciences (OWLS) meeting held in Mumbai during March 16th-19th 2016.






Awards for Deepa Khushalani`s Research Group

TIFR research scholars  and staff have consistently garnered accolades at both international and national meetings. Congratulations on their latest achievements!

Mr. Chandanshive Balasaheb B. (Research group of Prof. Deepa Khushalani)

Mr. Chandansive Balasaheb B. won the 3rd spot in the best oral presentation award at  the International Conference On Nanomaterials and Nanotechnology (Nano 2015) held during Dec 7-10th at Trichengode,Tamil Nadu. The title of his talk was: "Hydroxyapaptite Nanotubes: Biocompatible and Internalization Study". Click here for pics! Read  more about research in the Khushalani lab here.


Awards for Ankona Datta`s research group

Dr. Ankona Datta`s group has recently featured in the ACS Emerging Investigators in Bioinorganic Chemistry. Congratulations to Ankona and her group members! Read the full article here.

Samsuzzoha Mondal, Ph.D. Scholar from Ankona Datta`s research group, won the RSC Best poster award at the 6th International Conference on Metals in Genetics, Chemical Biology, and Therapeutics held at I.I.Sc. Bangalore, February 17-20, 2016. Samsuzzoha`s poster was titled: "Sensing Signaling Phospholipids with ‘Turn on’ and Ratiometric Fluorescent Probes". Congrats Samsuzzoha!

Anindita Sarkar, Ph.D. Scholar from Ankona Datta`s research group, won the best poster award in the international conference on Optics Within Life Sciences (OWLS-2016) held at TIFR during March 16-19. Anindita`s poster was titled: 'Turn-on' Fluorescence Sensors for Imaging Mn(II) in Live Cells'. Congrats Anindita!

Ankona`s research group works in the areas of Chemical Biology and Synthetic Chemistry, Molecular Biophysics and Imaging, and Bioinorganic and Biomimetic Chemistry within the department. Click here to learn more about Ankona`s research program.

Breakthrough Alzheimer`s Disease Research from from Maiti group

Prof. Sudipta Maiti`s research group has reported exciting progress towards identifying the structure of the oligomeric form of amyloid beta, the toxic molecular species that causes Alzheimer`s disease.  The full research article has been published in ACS Nano. The ASAP article link is hereThe breakthrough has received media coverage. A clipping can be found here.

RSC article on Vivek Polshettiwar

Dr. Vivek Polshettiwar has been nominated as one of the "175 faces in Chemistry program" . Congratulations to Vivek. You can read the full article here

Vivek`s research group is part of the nanoscience and catalysis program in the department. Click here to learn more about Vivek`s research program.

Honors for Vivek Polshettiwar

Dr. Vivek Polshettiwar is now a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, UK. Congratulations to Vivek!

Vivek`s research group is part of the nanoscience and catalysis program in the department. Click here to learn more about Vivek`s research program.

Prof. R.V. Hosur awarded "Padmashree"

One of our colleagues, Prof. R.V. Hosur has been awarded "Padmashree" by the Government of India. Prof. Hosur is currently the Senior Professor in the Department. He is also been holding the position of the Director at the Centre for Excellence in Basic Sciences at Kalina, Mumbai

Technological innovation from Maiti group

Prof. Sudipta Maiti`s research group has made significant contributions to the development of biophotonic instrumentation and methodology. Recently instrumentation developed right here at TIFR for fluorescence correlation spectroscopy in the Maiti lab has been commercialized. Read more about this technological innovation here