Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai

TIFR Mumbai is the main campus of TIFR - a National Centre of the Government of India, under the umbrella of the Department of Atomic Energy, as well as a deemed University awarding degrees for master's and doctoral programs. The Institute was founded in 1945 with support from the Sir Dorabji Tata Trust under the vision of Dr. Homi Bhabha. At TIFR Mumbai, we carry out basic research in physics, chemistry, biology, mathematics, and computer science.


Upcoming Events

Reionization: looking near and far

   Dr. Keri Dixon (NYU, Abu Dhabi)
   January 27, 2020         1000     

Towards Optimal Secure Computation Protocols

   Akshayaram Srinivasan (University of California Berkeley, CA, United States)
   January 27, 2020         1115     

Modular Theory and QFT (Tata-Infosys Lecture Series) [Lecture 1]

   Prof. Nima Lashkari (IAS, Princeton)
   January 27, 2020         1130     

No Tension! - The Carefree Life of Null Strings

   Dr. Arjun Bagchi (IIT Kanpur)
   January 27, 2020         1430     

Role of Acetylation at Active Site Lysine in Maintaining the Functional State of CDK1-Cyclin B Complex (M.Sc. Synopsis Seminar)

   Mr. Krishna Kant Vishwakarma (Dept. of Chemical Sciences, TIFR, Mumbai)
   January 27, 2020         1600     

Graphene with a twist : Moire superlattices in two dimentional crystals

   Prof. A.H. MacDonald (Department of Physics, University of Texas, Austin, US)
   January 27, 2020         1730     

Ph.D. Thesis Defense

   Ms. Babukrishna Maniyadath (TIFR)
   January 28, 2020         1130     

Towards emulating simulation of the reionization epoch in a few minutes with deep learning

   Prof. Jonathan Chardin (University of Strasbourg)
   January 28, 2020         1300     

Vibrational spectroscopy of biological systems at the micro and nano level - RERS, SERS, TERS & AFM-IR

   Prof. Don McNaughton, (Monash University, Australia)
   January 28, 2020         1430     

Dielectric and Magnetic Properties of Magnetically Frustrated R2Ti2O7 (R= Ho, Dy) Spin Ices

   Dr. Pramod Kumar Yadav (School of Materials Science & Technology, Indian Institute of Technology – (BHU), Varanasi)
   January 28, 2020         1430     

The Golden Age of Stellar Astronomy

   Prof. Shrinivas Kulkarni (Caltech, USA & JRD Tata Chair Professor, TIFR)
   January 28, 2020         1600     
   AG 66

Modular Theory and QFT (Tata-Infosys Lecture Series) [Lecture 2]

   Prof. Nima Lashkari (IAS, Princeton)
   January 29, 2020         1130     

Ph.D. Thesis Defense

   Mr. Abhisek Samanta (TIFR)
   January 29, 2020         1130     

Comparative study of spin reorientation in orthoferrite NdFeO3 due to A- site doping in one case and B- site doping in another

   Dr. Ankita Singh (Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee)
   January 29, 2020         1430     

Computational Catalysis: For Rationalizations and Predictions

   Prof. R. B. Sunoj (IIT Bombay)
   January 29, 2020         1600     

MODEST 20: Dense Star Clusters in the Era of Large Surveys

   February 02, 2020   to   February 07, 2020

Conference on Advances in Catalysis for Energy and Environment (CACEE)

   February 12, 2020   to   February 15, 2020
   Homi Bhabha Auditorium

Derived Categories and Geometry of Algebraic Varieties

   February 17, 2020   to   February 21, 2020
   AG66 / AG69

Mitochondria & Metabolism

   March 16, 2020   to   March 19, 2020

21st International Symposium on Very High Energy Cosmic Ray Interactions - ISVHECRI 2020

   June 04, 2020   to   June 08, 2020
 Dr S K Banerjee

Is it the year 2020 ?

   Sagar Shrivastava (TIFR)
   Sunday, 19th January 2020         11 AM      
   Ruparel College

Campus News


Remembering Bibha Chowdhuri

The first woman scientist at TIFR and a prominent figure in High Energy Physics

A life-long researcher, Bibha made significant contributions in the field of High Energy Physics, and has a star named after her.

TIFR hosts flagship Mathematics conference
Eminent mathematicians from 10 countries present their work more

Exotic Nuclei Predicted
TIFR physicists predict exotic nuclei, using the advanced computational facility of Indian Lattice... more

Combating Climate Change
TIFR researchers develop “Black Gold” which, like artificial trees, use CO2, sunlight and water... more

ICTP Prize
Dr. Basudeb Dasgupta was awarded the ICTP Prize for 2019, in honour of Chandrasekhar... more

Bhatnagar Prize
Prof. Shankar Ghosh has been awarded the “Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar” prize for the year 2019 in Physical... more