About us

IPA has over 3500 members under 45 chapters in India and some foreign countries

- Physics News, the IPA bulletin is published quarterly and mailed free to all members
- IPA has published several books and monographs on a wide range of topics in physics

R.D. Birla Memorial Award in Physics

Murli M. Chugani Memorial Award for Excellence in Applied Physics

Young Scientist Awards
- S. N. Seshadri Memorial Instrumentation Award
- N. S. Sathya Murthy Memorial Award in Physics
- Buti Foundation Award in Theoretical Physics, Astrophysics and Bio-physics.
- Best Thesis Awards
  (a) C V K Baba Memorial Award in Nuclear Physics
  (b) Solid State Physics

Talent Nurturing Awards
- Dr. C. L. Bhat Memorial Awards at the Indian Astronomy Olympiad Camp
- National Physics Olympiad Awards
- National Physics Talent Search Programme for
  (a) School students,
  (b) Under-graduate and Post-graduate students
  (c) College teachers

Lectures And Symposia
Over the years, IPA has organized several specialized Seminars, Symposia and Workshops.
IPA also conducts the following periodic lectures/seminars:
- DAE-C. V. Raman Lecture Series – by four eminent Indian scientists, every year
- P. A. Pandya Endowment Lecture – by an eminent physicist, every year
- Cockroft -Walton Lecture – by a visiting scientist from UK, alternate year
- Homi Bhabha Lecture (in UK) - by a visiting scientist from India, alternate year
- New Striking Notes in Physics – one day contemporary thematic seminar for college students, once a year

National And International Collaborations
- Indian Association for Physics Teachers (IAPT) for popularization of physics
- Association of Asia Pacific Physical Society (AAPPS) as a member association
- Institute of Physics, UK (IOP) for alternate year exchange of visiting lecturers
- American Physical Society (APS) to extend reciprocal membership privileges
   Join IPA
Do you want to be a Member?
Clik Here for:
New Registration


Life Member (Indian):
Associate Member (Annual):
Indian: 500.00
Indian (Student): 250.00

Details of Membership Fees
2018, IPA                               Webpage is maintained by Dr. Sanjoy Pal, TIFR