Aswini Kumar Rath Memorial Award in Nuclear Physics :

The Aswini Kumar Rath Memorial Award has been instituted in the memory of late, Dr. Aswini Kumar Rath in 2010 through an endowment received from the Alumini Association of Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar.

The Aswini Kumar Rath Award will be given to a young scientist below the age of 40 years working in India in recognition of outstanding contributions to research in nuclear physics. The selection of the awardee is made by a committee constituted by the executive committee of IPA. The recipient of this award should be, an Indian, affiliated to an Indian institution and should have carried out a major part of the reported work within India.

The Aswini Kumar Rath Award consists of a Citation, a Medal, and a cash amount of Rs. 10,000/-.

Aswini Kumar Rath Awardee List

About Dr. Aswini Kumar Rath

Dr Aswini Kumar Rath was born on 2nd January 1961. He completed his MSc from Ravenshaw College, Cuttack in 1982 and PhD in Nuclear Physics from the Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar, in 1991. His field of interest was Nuclear Structure. He was working as a Reader in the Department of Physics, Sambalpur University, Orissa, till he expired suddenly on 28th March in 2008.

Dr Aswini Kumar Rath liked teaching and was a kind and helpful person. He had great organisational skills and conducted many sports and cultural activities which brought people together. He was the local convener for the National DAE Symposium on Nuclear Physics, held at Sambalpur University in December, 2007. His sudden demise came as shock to all who knew him.

A memorial fund was raised by the Alumni Association, Institute of Physics, with contributions from alumni members (former PhD students and teachers of Institute of Physics) and family of Dr Aswini Kumar Rath, to institute a memorial award in his name.
   Join IPA
Do you want to be a Member?
Clik Here for:
New Registration


Life Member (Indian):
Associate Member (Annual):
Indian: 500.00
Indian (Student): 250.00

Details of Membership Fees
2018, IPA                               Webpage is maintained by Dr. Sanjoy Pal, TIFR