Meeting Program

Venue : Ellaa Hotel, Gachibowli, Hyderabad

Click on the name of the speaker to read abstract

Time 1st July [Sun] 2nd July [Mon] 3rd July [Tue]
9:00-9:50 G. S. Agarwal
Quantized nano mechanics
O.J.F. Martin
Plasmonic trapping: controlling nanoparticles at the nanoscale
Ayan Banerjee
Advantages of aberration: Exploring the world of spherically aberrated optical traps for mesoscopic particles
9:50-10:40 K. Bliokh
Does a surface polariton have spin
Nirmalya Ghosh
Quantitative polarimetry in nano-plasmonics: biomedical prospects
Chandrabhas Narayana
Tailoring the Surface Plasmons in Nano Particles for Biomedical applications
10:40-11:10 TEA TEA TEA
11:10-12:00 Mu Wang
Switching the electric and magnetic responses of metallic microstructures at the same frequency: an approach to realize negative refractive index
S. Anantha Ramakrishna
Controlling emission and absorption of light by metamaterials and plasmonic structures
George Thomas
Coupled and chiral surface plasmons in metal nanostructures
12:00-12:50 Harish Krishnamoorthy
Optical topological transitions in metamaterials
G. V. Pavan Kumar
Plasmonic hot-spots: Creation, Characterization and Control
Christina MacLaughlin
SERS nanoparticles for detection of leukemia and lymphoma cell surface proteins using Raman spectroscopy, optical microscopy and fluorescence flow cytometry
14:00-14:50 S. Combrie
All optical switching: towards an "optical transistor"
S. A. Biehs
Nanoscale heat transfer between hyperbolic media
14:50-15:20 TEA TEA
15:20-16:10 Rikki Coles
Slow light, Anderson localisation and routes to Purcell Enhancement in photonic crystal waveguides
Martin Lopez Garcia
Modifying emission by self-assembled photonic plasmonic crystals
16:10-17:00 Achanta Venu Gopal
Plasmonic crystals to manipulate optical properties
Sushil Mujumdar
Light transport in disordered systems with gain
18:30-19:30 Discussions followed by Dinner Discussions followed by Dinner


  • TIFR
  • University of Hyderabad
  • TCIS


  • Director TIFR
  • VC, UH
  • Director TCIS
  • Director ICTS

The Architects of the Meeting

  • G S Agarwal
  • S Dutta Gupta
  • A Venu Gopal
  • S S Prabhu
  • S. Venu Gopal Rao
  • P Anantha Lakshmi
  • Suneel Singh
  • Sushil Mujumdar
  • Jyotishman Dasgupta

Contact Email Addresses