MODEST 20: Dense Star Clusters in the Era of Large Surveys

February 2 - 7, 2020

Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR)

Colaba, Mumbai, India


Event Sponsor:


The study of the evolution of massive star clusters connects a variety of research areas in astrophysics and has implications for our understanding in cosmological star formation, galaxy formation and evolution, stellar evolution, and the formation of a variety of stellar exotica. The recent advancements in our understanding of how star clusters form and evolve come from a variety of observational and theoretical breakthroughs. While surveys using HST, VLA, GMRT, and MUSE have provided important clues towards our understanding of star clusters and a plethora of resolved exotic stellar populations in them, breakthroughs in modeling have allowed us to create detailed and realistic models of massive star clusters that can be directly compared to the observational data. The LIGO-Virgo detectors, Gaia, and ASTROSAT missions are already providing exciting data that are directly relevant for star clusters and their resolved stellar exotica. This trend will continue with upcoming missions such as JWST, SKA, PTA, LSST, TMT, and other planned GW detectors such as LISA, Kagra, and Indigo.

To pave the way towards a better understanding of star cluster formation and evolution, and the variety of stellar exotica they form via complex dynamical processes, it is crucial to increase communication between researchers working in many different areas of astrophysics. In the era of observation-driven astrophysics, this conference will strive to foster this communication by showcasing our recent progress in observational, theoretical, and modeling capabilities.

Scientific Organizing Committee

Sourav Chatterjee (Chair)

Michela Mapelli

Fred Rasio

Simon Portegies-Zwart

Steve McMillan

Alison Sills

Rainer Spurzem

Natasha Ivanova

Jarrod Hurley

Annapurni Subramaniam

Local Organizing Committee

Sourav Chatterjee

Achamavedu Gopakumar

Magnes Johny

Vinay Bhonsle

Raju Ambekar

Shobha Shenoy

Lankeswar Dey

Shrishti Tiwari

S. Abhimanyu

Ambreesh Khurana

Anindya Ganguly

Chirag Chawla

Tuhin Ghosh