6365747Shravan Hanasoge, Principal Investigator

Shravan Hanasoge joined the Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, as a faculty member in 2013. He received his Ph.D. at Stanford University, where he worked with the Solar Group on developing computational techniques to enable the seismology of the solar interior. He then pursued a postdoctoral fellowship at the Max-Planck Institute for Solar System Research and the Department of Geosciences, Princeton University, with appointments as a visiting scholar at Courant Institute of Mathematical Science and an Associate fellow of the Princeton Center for Theoretical Science.  He has a Bachelor’s degree in Aerospace Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Madras and a Masters from Stanford University.

hanasoge at tifr.res.in CV


Siddharth Dhanpal

Siddharth works in imaging red-giants to study the structure and evolution of Red-giants. He uses machine learning techniques to analyze the seismic spectra of red-giants and sub-giants.

siddharth.dhanpal at tifr.res.in  

Samarth GK

Samarth GK works on global seismology of the Sun using normal mode
coupling. Before joining the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research as a
graduate student in 2016, he worked as an engineer at the National
Aerospace Laboratories, Bangalore and Tata Motors Limited, New Delhi. He
received his Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from National
Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal.

g.samarth at tifr.res.in  

Prasad Mani

Prasad joined TIFR in 2017. He works on topics of global helioseismology, trying to understand the structure of turbulent convection in the Sun. He plans on analysing data from ground- and space-based observations to make inferences about the large-scale dynamics and evolution of convective flows. He was awarded a Bachelors in Electronics Engineering from K.J. Somaiya College of Engineering in 2016.

prasad.subramanian at tifr.res.in  

Subrata Panda

Subrata applies machine learning to asteroseismology.

subrata.panda at tifr.res.in  

Visiting students

Shatanik Bhattacharya

Shatanik works on machine learning applied to asteroseismology.

shatanik.bhattacharya at tifr.res.in  


Nipun works on machine learning applied to asteroseismology.

nipun at tifr.res.in  

Group alumni

0Arjun Datta

Postdoc from 2018 – 2021. Arjun is a faculty member at IISER Pune.

arjundatta23 at gmail.com



Ajay Malkoti

Postdoc from 2019 – 2021. Ajay Malkoti is a scientist at the National Geological Research Institute (NGRI), Hyderabad.

ajmalkoti at gmail.com




Shamik Bhattacharjee, Postdoctoral Fellow 

Shamik is trying to understand the underlying mechanisms giving rise to solar flares by using machine learning techniques. Currently, he is using convolution neural network architectures for classifying solar active region (AR) images. Shamik received his Ph.D. from the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, and MSc from the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi.

shamik127 at gmail.com  

Dattaraj Dhuri

Graduated with PhD, 2020. Currently a postdoctoral scholar at New York University Abu Dhabi, Center for Space Science.

dbdhuri at gmail.com



Krishnendu Mandal

Graduated with Ph.D. 2020. Now a postdoc at the Max-Planck Institute for Solar System Research.

krishnendum218 at gmail.com


Tuneer Chakraborty

Garduated with Masters, 2019. Currently, a Ph.D. student at International Centre for Theoretical Sciences, Bengaluru.

tuneer.ch at gmail.com



Jishnu Bhattacharya 


Graduated with PhD, 2018. Currently a postdoctoral scholar at New York University Abu Dhabi, Center for Space Science.

jishnu.bhattacharya at gmail.com



Former visiting students

       Vedant Dhruv (University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign)

Atharv Deokule (International Centre for Theoretical Sciences, Bengaluru)

        Sashi Mahapatra (Research Intern at The Reserve Bank of India)

Vishal Upendran (IIT Madras, now at IUCAA)

Rakesh Nath (North Dakota State University)

Ojas Saraf (IIT Madras)

Harpreet Sethi  (IIT Roorkee)

Samrat Halder (IIT Kharagpur)

Rimple Malik (IIT Roorkee)

Comments are closed.